The best 99p ebook deals this May!

The best 99p ebook deals this May!

Team Bookends have got the eBook bargain for you this May. From a classic by Jill Mansell to Celia Imrie‘s autobiography, there’s something for everyone!

Staying at Daisy’s by Jill Mansell

The perfect read for those long summer days, from Jill Mansell, Sunday Times bestselling author of MAYBE THIS TIME. Not to be missed if you love the novels of Katie Fforde and Milly Johnson.

Daisy MacLean runs the country house hotel owned by her flamboyant father, Hector. When she hears who’s about to get married there, she isn’t worried at all – her friend Tara absolutely promises there won’t be any trouble between her and ex-boyfriend Dominic, whom she hasn’t seen for years. But Dominic has other ideas…

Meanwhile, Hector’s getting up to all sorts with…well, that’s the village’s best kept secret.

And then Barney turns up, with a little something belonging to the husband Daisy’s been doing her best to forget.

That’s the thing about hotels, you never know who you’re going to meet. Or whether they’re going to stay…

The Oceans Between Us by Gill Thompson

Inspired by heartrending true events, a mother fights to find her son and a child battles for survival in this riveting debut novel.

‘A warm-hearted tale of love, loss and indefatigable human spirit’ Kathryn Hughes

For readers of Before We Were Yours by Lisa Wingate, Lilac Girls by Martha Hall Kelly, The Letter by Kathryn Hughes, and Remember Me by Lesley Pearse.

A woman is found wandering injured in London after an air raid. She remembers nothing of who she is. Only that she has lost something very precious.

As the little boy waits in the orphanage, he hopes his mother will return. But then he finds himself on board a ship bound for Australia, the promise of a golden life ahead, and wonders: how will she find him in a land across the oceans?

In Perth, a lonely wife takes in the orphaned child. But then she discovers the secret of his past. Should she keep quiet? Or tell the truth and risk losing the boy who has become her life?

This magnificent, moving novel, set in London and Australia, is testament to the strength of the human spirit and the enduring power of love.

The Happy Hoofer by Celia Imrie

One of our best-loved actresses, Celia Imrie has become one of our finest and funniest performers, on stage, TV and screen – adored for her roles in Acorn Antiques and Dinnerladies, as well as films including Calendar Girls and Nanny McPhee.

In her hugely entertaining autobiography Celia Imrie recounts a life hurtling (not always intentionally) into adventures both on stage and off. Whether it’s finding herself on stage with half the scenery stuck to her cardigan, or being kidnapped on her way to location, somehow she emerges from the chaos unscathed.

Acting, she admits, is a mad, chaotic profession and it is her refreshing honesty, sense of mischief, fun and almost unruffled determination in the face of it all that makes this autobiography a never-ending delight.

One Small Act of Kindness by Lucy Dillon

What can you do to make the world a better place?

Libby and her husband Jason have moved back to his hometown to turn the family B&B into a boutique hotel. They have left London behind and all the memories – good and bad – that went with it.

The injured woman Libby finds lying in the remote country road has lost her memory. She doesn’t know why she came to be there, and no one seems to be looking for her.

When Libby offers to take her in, this one small act of kindness sets in motion a chain of events that will change the lives of all of them…

Gifts for Our Time by Anna Jacobs

Germany 1939, and Christa Sommer boards the Kindertransport, unsure that she’ll ever see her beloved mother and father again.

Once in England she is taken in by elderly Mrs Pelling, who grows to love Christa as the daughter she never had.

But in 1945 Mrs Pelling dies.  While her will cannot be found, her money-grabbing niece appears out of the blue to claim her inheritance and turfs Christa out, with only a suitcase to her name. The prejudice against Germans still runs high in England, and Christa is unable to secure a job or a place to stay.

Luck comes her way when she saves a lady from a mugging, and is taken to Rivenshaw to start a new life. There Christa is welcomed with open arms and she soon develops a love for the place, the people, and the handsome Daniel. But is Rivenshaw the trouble-free sanctuary she first thinks?

The Mother in law by Sally Hepworth

From the bestselling author of The Family Next Door comes a new domestic page-turner about that trickiest of relationships and what happens when it all goes wrong.

She has never approved of you. But it’s when her body is found the secrets really start to come out…

From the moment Lucy met her husband’s mother, Diana, she was kept at arm’s length. 

Now, Diana has been found dead, a suicide note near her body.  Diana claims that she no longer wanted to live because of a battle with cancer. But the autopsy finds no cancer. The autopsy does find traces of poison and suffocation.

Everyone in the family is hiding something. But what? And where will the secrets stop?

Almost Love by Louise O’Neill

‘Honest and poignant’ Elle

When Sarah falls for Matthew, she falls hard.

So it doesn’t matter that he’s twenty years older. That he sees her only in secret. That, slowly but surely, she’s sacrificing everything else in her life to be with him.

Sarah’s friends are worried. Her father can’t understand how she could allow herself to be used like this. And she’s on the verge of losing her job.

But Sarah can’t help it. She is addicted to being desired by Matthew.

And love is supposed to hurt.

Isn’t it?

Believe Me by JP Delaney

Claire Wright likes to play other people.

A British drama student, in New York without a green card, Claire takes the only job she can get: working for a firm of divorce lawyers, posing as an easy pick-up in hotel bars to entrap straying husbands.

When one of her targets becomes the subject of a murder investigation, the police ask Claire to use her acting skills to help lure their suspect into a confession. And that’s when Claire realises she’s playing the deadliest role of her life . . .

‘Imaginative, unusual, clever and fun’ – Sunday Times