Last Christmas by Greg Wise and Emma Thompson

Last Christmas by Greg Wise and Emma Thompson

‘The perfect gift for anyone who loves all things Christmas …
it’s a festive gem’ Woman & Home

The perfect gift book, featuring the writing of Meryl Streep, Bill Bailey, Emilia Clarke, Olivia Colman, Caitlin Moran, Richard Ayoade, Emily Watson and others, to coincide with the upcoming movie Last Christmas, starring Emma Thompson, Emilia Clarke and Henry Golding.

When you think back to Christmases past, what (if anything) made it magical? Looking towards the future, what would your perfect Christmas be? What would you change? What should we all change?

This is a beautiful, funny and soulful collection of personal essays about the meaning of Christmas, written by a unique plethora of voices from the boulevards of Hollywood to the soup kitchens of Covent Garden.

Away from the John Lewis advert, the high street decorations and the candied orange in Heston Blumenthal’s Christmas pudding, this gem of a book introduced and curated by Emma Thompson and Greg Wise celebrates the importance of kindness and generosity, acceptance and tolerance – and shows us that these values are not just for Christmas.

25p from the sale of each copy of the book will be paid to Crisis and the Refugee Council.

Last Christmas is available to buy now.

Blackberry and Wild Rose by Sonia Velton

Blackberry and Wild Rose by Sonia Velton

For fans of Jessie Burton and Tracy Chevalier, a rich historical debut set among the Huguenot silk weavers of Spitalfields
in the late 18th century

WHEN ESTHER THOREL, the wife of a Huguenot silk-weaver, rescues Sara Kemp from a brothel she thinks she is doing God’s will. Sara is not convinced being a maid is better than being a whore, but the chance to escape her grasping ‘madam’ is too good to refuse.

INSIDE THE THORELS’ tall house in Spitalfields, where the strange cadence of the looms fills the attic, the two women forge an uneasy relationship. The physical intimacies of washing and dressing belie the reality: Sara despises her mistress’s blindness to the hypocrisy of her household, while Esther is too wrapped up in her own secrets to see Sara as anything more than another charitable cause.

IT IS SILK that has Esther so distracted. For years she has painted her own designs, dreaming that one day her husband will weave them into reality. When he laughs at her ambition, she unwittingly sets in motion events that will change the fate of the whole Thorel household and set the scene for a devastating day of reckoning between her and Sara.

THE PRICE OF a piece of silk may prove more than either is able to pay.

‘Sumptuous and moving. Velton weaves her tale with the threads of betrayal, thwarted dreams and good intentions gone awry’ Laura Purcell

‘A richly imagined and brilliantly twisty tale’ Anna Mazzola

‘A plot as finely detailed as Spitalfields silk’ Stacey Halls

Blackberry and Wild Rose is available to buy now.

A Spark of Light by Jodi Picoult

A Spark of Light by Jodi Picoult

The stunning and urgent new novel from the Number One bestselling author of Small Great Things.

‘An apposite and nuanced novel… Picoult writes about an emotive, controversial issue with unflinching precision.’ Red

‘A very special novel about a very difficult subject.’ Grazia

The Center for women’s reproductive health offers a last chance at hope – but nobody ends up there by choice.

Its very existence is controversial, and to the demonstrators who barricade the building every day, the service it offers is no different from legalised murder.

Now life and death decisions are being made horrifyingly real: a lone protester with a gun has taken the staff, patients and visitors hostage.

Starting at the tensest moment in the negotiations for their release, A Spark of Light unravels backwards, revealing hour by urgent hour what brought each of these people – the gunman, the negotiator, the doctors, nurses and women who have come to them for treatment – to this point.

And certainties unwind as truths and secrets are peeled away, revealing the complexity of balancing the right to life with the right to choose.

The Night She Died by Jenny Blackhurst

The Night She Died by Jenny Blackhurst

Best friend. Lover. Husband. Which of them knows the real Evie White?

On her own wedding night, beautiful and complicated Evie White leaps off a cliff to her death.

What drove her to commit this terrible act? It’s left to her best friend and her husband to unravel the sinister mystery.

Following a twisted trail of clues leading to Evie’s darkest secrets, they begin to realize they never knew the real Evie at all…

The bone-chilling new novel from Jenny Blackhurst, the #1 eBook-bestselling author of How I Lost You, Before I Let You In and The Foster Child. If you love dark, twisty thrillers, you’ll love The Night She Died.

I Will Find You by Daniela Sacerdoti

I Will Find You by Daniela Sacerdoti

Two different women, divided by time, bound by fate…

After her mother dies, grief-stricken Cora discovers she has been left a cottage, a crumbling shelter on a mysterious Scottish island. The moment Cora arrives on the windswept isle of Seal, she falls under its spell and is drawn to brooding Innes, back on the island to confront his past.

As Cora begins to trace her mother’s roots, she learns Gealach Cottage has a dark, turbulent history. Another young woman has sought refuge here, fleeing terrible danger, and waiting for her lover to return. What became of her? Only by unravelling a forgotten story of passion and courage can Cora understand what has pulled her to Seal…and led her to a man of many secrets.

From the bestselling author of Watch Over Me, Daniela Sacerdoti’s new novel is a romantic, heartrending, epic story that will sweep you away to the beautiful, mysterious island of Seal. Perfect for fans of Rosanna Ley and Tracy Rees.

Deliver Me by Karen Cole

Deliver Me by Karen Cole

THE NIGHT SHE DOESN’T REMEMBER WILL BE THE ONE SHE CAN’T FORGET

When Abby’s doctor tells her she’s two months pregnant she doesn’t believe him. She can’t be – she hasn’t had sex for over a year. But to her astonishment and dismay, multiple tests confirm it’s true.

Desperately searching for an explanation, Abby recalls New Year’s Day – the terrible hangover, the hole in her memory where the night before should have been and the inexplicable sense of unease – and realises that this baby must have been conceived at her best friend Danny’s NYE party.

Horrified that someone would have taken advantage of her intoxicated state, Abby enlists the help of Danny to find out which of the party guests assaulted her. But, when she starts to receive anonymous messages, it seems that while she has been looking into the father of her baby, someone has been watching her…

A gripping psychological thriller, perfect for fans of Louise Jensen and C.L. Taylor.

Winter Without You by Beth Good

Winter Without You by Beth Good

THE heartwarming and emotional read for Christmas 2018

What do you do when you lose everything?

After the tragic death of her boyfriend, Hannah Clitheroe is hiding away from the world. But when she discovers she’s inherited a house in Cornwall, she knows it’s time to face reality.

Her estranged grandmother lived in Kernow House for years, but Hannah soon realises someone else thinks it’s rightfully theirs: Raphael Tregar, a difficult man who quickly gets under her skin.

But as winter sets in, there’s one more thing that keeps her up at night, and the rising fear that she may not find her true home in Cornwall after all…

How to Hold a Grudge by Sophie Hannah

How to Hold a Grudge by Sophie Hannah

The ultimate guide on how to use grudges to be your happiest, most optimistic and most forgiving self!

“Hannah is entertaining company and the book is even more amusing…” The Times

Being someone who holds grudges is seen by many as a bad thing, but what if our grudges, when managed correctly, are good for us?

What if they can act as a series of stepping stones, pointing us in the right direction?

What if they can ward off danger, like charms on a charm bracelet?

Look no further for the ultimate guide on how we need to acknowledge, examine and sometimes embrace our grudges in order to live our best possible lives.