News

Friend of Bookends Angela recommends The Paper Wasp…

The summer is hotting up and if you’re searching for your summer reading recommendations look no further! The Paper Wasp by Lauren Acampora is an electrifying debut novel of two women’s friendship, a haunting obsession and twisted ambition, set against the feverish backdrop of contemporary Hollywood. A book that you’re guaranteed to get wrapped up...

The best books to gift this Father’s Day

Father's Day
With Father’s Day coming up, we’ve put together a list of 6 books we think would make the perfect gift for all Dads everywhere. Take a look below! Man vs Toddler by Matt Coyne More inept, more clueless and more exhausted than ever, the man behind the blogging phenomenon Man vs Baby is back with...

All Summer With You by Beth Good

All Summer With You
A summer romance for fans of Heidi Swain, Daisy James and Sarah Morgan. There’s no place like home… Nursing a broken heart, Jennifer Bolitho retreats to Pixie Cottage. Her new landlord – a former soldier turned movie heartthrob – has grounds so large, she’s sure the little house nestled in the woods will bring her...

Still Lives by Maria Hummel

Still Lives
WINNER OF STYLIST BOOK WARS A SUNDAY TIMES CRIME CLUB PICK SHORTLISTED FOR AMAZON’S BEST MYSTERY/THRILLER OF THE YEAR  A REESE WITHERSPOON BOOK CLUB PICK As the party of the year gets underway, celebrities and patrons pour into the Rocque Museum to see Kim Lord – L.A.’s artist of the moment – stabbed, strangled, shot, and beaten. It’s the...

Evvie Drake Starts Over by Linda Homes

You don’t always get to start your life over. Sometimes, life starts itself over for you. One morning, Eveleth ‘Evvie’ Drake got up, packed her suitcase, and got ready to leave her life – and her perfect husband – behind. But before she walked out of the door, she received a phone call asking her...

Half a World Away by Mike Gayle

From the author of The Man I Think I Know Strangers living worlds apart.Strangers with nothing in common. But it wasn’t always that way… Kerry Hayes is a single mum, living on a tough south London estate. She provides for her son by cleaning houses she could never hope to afford. Taken into care as...

Her Last Promise by Kathryn Hughes

Her Last Promise
A mysterious letter from Spain. A surprising new beginning… Fall in love this summer with Her Last Promise, a gripping, heartwrenching story of how hope can blossom in the ruins of tragedy and of the redeeming power of love. From No. 1 bestselling author Kathryn Hughes. What real readers are saying about Her Last Promise… ‘Hope rises from despair...

Tell Me Your Secret by Dorothy Koomson

Tell Me Your Secret by Dorothy Koomson
The new emotional thriller from the Sunday Times bestselling author of The Ice Cream Girls, My Best Friend’s Girl and The Brighton Mermaid. Dorothy Koomson, ‘Queen of the big reveal’, is back with a gripping page-turner full of twists and turns. Pieta has a secret.Ten years ago, Pieta was kidnapped by a man calling himself The Blindfolder who said he...

The Travelling Book of Wonders

Julien Sandrel’s upcoming book The Book of Wonders is a life-affirming and uplifting novel about Thelma and Louis. It’s always just been the two of the, Thelma and her beloved son, Louis. But when Louis is involved in an accident, their lives are turned upside down, as Louis falls into a coma. Feeling lost without...

Her Last Promise, the new book from Kathryn Hughes it out now!

Get your kindles ready, as Kathryn Hughes is back with an uplifting, gripping and heart wrenching story of how hope can blossom in the ruins of tragedy and of the redeeming power of love. A mysterious letter from Spain. A surprising new beginning… Tara Richards was just a girl when she lost her mother. Years later...


OUR CHOICE


THIS MONTH'S PICKS