Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

The Jane Austen Society

The Jane Austen Society

‘Sweet, smart escapism’ People magazine

‘Fans of Pride and Prejudice will rejoice… delightful!’ Woman’s World magazine

‘A spectacular story! I fell in love with it’ Elle Croft

‘Hope can sometimes be just enough’



It’s only a few months since the war ended but the little village of Chawton is about to be hit by another devastating blow. The heart of the community and site of Jane Austen’s cherished former home, Chawton estate is in danger of being sold to the highest bidder.

Eight villagers are brought together by their love for the famous author’s novels, to create The Jane Austen Society. As new friendships form and the pain of the past begins to heal, surely they can find a way to preserve Austen’s legacy before it is too late?

And there may even be a few unexpected surprises along the way…

A heartbreaking and uplifting novel of hope, loss and love. Perfect for fans of Miss Austen by Gill Hornby and The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society by Annie Barrows and Mary Ann Shaffer.

Readers are falling in love with The Jane Austen Society:

‘A wonderful book, a wonderful read’ Karen Joy Fowler

‘Fans of The Chilbury Ladies’ Choir and The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society will adore The Jane Austen Society. A charming and memorable debut’ Pam Jenoff, New York Times bestselling author of The Lost Girls of Paris

‘An extremely impressive debut novel populated with fully-developed, nuanced characters that resonate’ Mark Sullivan, bestselling author of Beneath a Scarlet Sky

‘I can’t remember the last time I was so utterly charmed by a novel . . .’ Ann Hood, New York Times bestselling author of Comfort

Joyous . . . Natalie Jenner casts a spell that will have you falling in love with each of her lovingly-drawn characters’ Kim van Alkemade, New York Times bestselling author of Orphan 8

‘A charming yet bittersweet tale about the power of literature – the beloved Jane Austen in particular – to heal and elevate the human spirit’ Marie Benedict, New York Times bestselling author of The Only Woman in the Room

Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Historical Fiction

On Sale: 28th May 2020

Price: £20.99

ISBN-13: 9781409194132

Reviews

I can't remember the last time I was so utterly charmed by a novel . . . A celebration of the human spirit and the power of stories
Ann Hood, New York Times bestselling author of Comfort
Joyous . . . Natalie Jenner casts a spell that will have you falling in love with each of her lovingly-drawn characters
Kim van Alkemade, New York Times bestselling author of Orphan 8
A charming yet bittersweet tale about the power of literature - the beloved Jane Austen in particular - to heal and elevate the human spirit
Marie Benedict, New York Times bestselling author of The Only Woman in the Room
Fans of Pride and Prejudice will rejoice over this charming debut novel centred around legendary author Jane Austen
Woman's World Magazine
Just like a story written by Austen herself, Jenner's first novel is brimming with charming moments, endearing characters and nuanced relationships
Booklist (starred review)
An intensely moving and thought-provoking story...one of those marvellous novels that make you laugh out loud one minute, sob the next, and whoop with delight
Jane Austen's Regency World Magazine
Fans of The Chilbury Ladies' Choir and The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society will adore The Jane Austen Society. A charming and memorable debut
Pam Jenoff, New York Times bestselling author of The Lost Girls of Paris
An extremely impressive debut novel populated with fully-developed, nuanced characters that resonate
Mark Sullivan, bestselling author of Beneath a Scarlet Sky
Sweet, smart escapism
People Magazine