We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

The second book in the brand new Backshaw Moss series from million-copy bestseller Anna Jacobs



Lancashire, 1930s. When her mother dies, leaving her an old sewing box and a clue to her father’s identity, 22-year-old Maisie Bassett is determined to make a fresh start.

Changing her name and moving to the small town of Rivenshaw, she finds a respectable job in a grocery store. But unwanted attentions from a man at her new church make life increasingly difficult – until the shy, handsome Gabriel Harte comes to her rescue.

Then she receives an inheritance from a distant relative and her world is turned upside down. The home she’s always dreamed of may finally be hers – if she can keep it safe from a grasping slum landlord. With Gabriel’s help, can Maisie untangle the secrets of her past and secure her future?

Curl up with this heartwarming read from the Queen of the Rural Saga – perfect for fans of Dilly Court, Rosie Goodwin and Katie Flynn

***

Can’t wait for more Anna Jacobs? Make sure you’re not missing out with this list of first books in her other series:

A Daughter’s Journey (Birch End Series)
One Quiet Woman (Ellindale Series)
Salem Street (Gibson Family Series)
A Time to Remember (Rivenshaw Saga)
The Trader’s Wife (Traders Series)
Farewell to Lancashire (Swan River Saga)
Pride of Lancashire (Music Hall Series)
A Pennyworth of Sunshine (Irish Sisters Series)
Our Lizzie (Kershaw Sisters)

Readers love Anna Jacobs’ Birch End Series!

‘Amazing’ – 5 STARS
‘Thank you, Anna, for the pleasure you give in all your books’ – 5 STARS
‘Another brilliant, hard-to-put-down book’ – 5 STARS
‘Can’t wait for the next instalment’ – 5 STARS
‘A real page turner, I can’t wait to read the next one’ – 5 STARS
‘Another triumph for Anna Jacobs’ – 5 STARS
‘BRILLIANT READ’ – 5 STARS

Reviews

PRAISE FOR ANNA JACOBS:
This is that rare thing, a pacy page-turner with a ripping plot and characters you care about . . . [Anna Jacobs is] especially big on resourceful, admirable women. Great stuff!
Daily Mail
Anna Jacobs' books are deservedly popular. She is one of the best writers of Lancashire sagas around
Historical Novels Review
[Anna Jacobs' books have an] impressive grasp of human emotions
The Sunday Times