Wrap up warm and explore the breath-taking beauty of a remote Scottish island and an old house waiting to unlock enchanting family secrets. Francine Jo Thomas writes for an audience who wants a cosy comfortable read with a few hiccups along the way but with a reassuring satisfactory ending. I…
Picked as one of the Telegraph’s cookbooks of the year 2019. ‘I began to dream about an orchard filled with thousands of fruit trees… Today we have an orchard with over 150 ancient varieties of apple. Each one has its heritage in a village or a county that used to thrive on…
Sunday Times bestselling author Karen Rose is back with the gripping fifth instalment of the Cincinnati series. Fans of James Patterson, Karin Slaughter and Tess Gerritsen will love this unputdownable race to stop a serial killer out for revenge. When Michael Rowland saves his younger brother Joshua from the clutches of…
‘The perfect gift for anyone who loves all things Christmas … it’s a festive gem’ Woman & Home The perfect gift book, featuring the writing of Meryl Streep, Bill Bailey, Emilia Clarke, Olivia Colman, Caitlin Moran, Richard Ayoade, Emily Watson and others, to coincide with the upcoming movie Last Christmas, starring Emma…
For fans of Jessie Burton and Tracy Chevalier, a rich historical debut set among the Huguenot silk weavers of Spitalfieldsin the late 18th century WHEN ESTHER THOREL, the wife of a Huguenot silk-weaver, rescues Sara Kemp from a brothel she thinks she is doing God’s will. Sara is not convinced…
If you haven’t got any plans to celebrate Bonfire Night then look no further as we’ve pulled together everything you need to host your sparkling fireworks night! What to eat Why not try this mouth-watering Spiced Toffee Traybake recipe from Mary Berry’s Fast Cakes before you head out to watch those…
Are you starting to get into the cosy, festive mood? Let us help you with an exclusive extract from the new book by Jo Thomas, Coming Home to Winter Island! Read the extract here: READ THE FIRST CHAPTER OF COMING HOME TO WINTER ISLAND Buy the book here. Happy reading!
Halloween is officially over so we’ve got one thing on our minds – CHRISTMAS! Cue us mulling all drinks in a 3 mile radius, bedecking everything in sight with tinsel and fairy lights and spending every weekend practicing true winter cosiness with hot chocolate in hand and book on lap.…
Read an exclusive extract from IN HER EYES, a gripping thriller about secrets in a seemingly perfect family, from the author of the equally twisty psychological thriller FRIENDS LIKE THESE! From the author of FRIENDS LIKE THESE, IN HER EYES will keep you up all night. You’re at home with…
RECIPES FROM THE LOST ORCHARD APPLE CRUMBLE COOKIES Granny Smiths are good for this recipe. I have suggested rolling out the dough to make round biscuits, but if you want a chunkier, rustic-looking cookie, just divide the mixture into thirty equal pieces, flatten them very slightly and then bake them…

Newsletter Signup

Sign up to the Bookends newsletter to be the first to hear our latest news!
Simply enter your details below.


 

By submitting your details you are agreeing to Hachette UK’s Privacy Policy.

You can unsubscribe at any time via the link in any email that we send you.

About Us

Bookends is a vibrant  reading community to help you ensure you’re never without a good book. It brings together the best reads from three publishers: Hodder & Stoughton, Headline Publishing Group and Quercus Books.

You’ll find exclusive previews of the brilliant new books from your favourite authors as well as exciting debuts and past classics. Read our blog, check out our recommendations for your reading group, enter great competitions and much more! Why not sign up for our regular newsletter to make sure you’re always first in the know?