We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

Shadow of Night

Shadow of Night

*Now a major Sky TV series. A Discovery of Witches Season 2 coming soon.*
*Read the novel Season 2 is based on.*

Fall deeper under the spell of Diana and Matthew in the captivating second volume of the No.1 internationally bestselling ALL SOULS trilogy, following A DISCOVERY OF WITCHES. Perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman, Diana Gabaldon and J. K. Rowling.

In a world of witches, daemons and vampires the fragile balance of peace is unravelling. Diana and Matthew’s forbidden love has broken the laws dividing creatures. To discover the manuscript which holds their hope for the future, they must now travel back to the past.

When Diana Bishop, descended from a line of powerful witches, discovered a significant alchemical manuscript in the Bodleian Library, she sparked a struggle in which she became bound to long-lived vampire Matthew Clairmont. Now the coexistence of witches, daemons, vampires and humans is dangerously threatened.

Seeking safety, Diana and Matthew travel back in time to London, 1590. But they soon realise that the past may not provide a haven. Reclaiming his former identity as poet and spy for Queen Elizabeth, the vampire falls back in with a group of radicals known as the School of Night. Many are unruly daemons, the creative minds of the age, including playwright Christopher Marlowe and mathematician Thomas Harriot.

Together Matthew and Diana scour Tudor London for the elusive manuscript Ashmole 782, and search for the witch who will teach Diana how to control her remarkable powers…

Praise for Deborah Harkness:

‘Rich, thrilling . . . captivating’ E L James

‘Intelligent and off-the-wall’ The Sunday Times

‘I could lose myself in here and never want to come out’ Manda Scott

‘A bubbling cauldron of illicit desire’ Daily Mail
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Modern & Contemporary Fiction (post C 1945)

On Sale: 26th November 2020

Price: £9.99

ISBN-13: 9781472276568

Reviews

What a rich, thrilling and educational tale it is. . . A captivating and romantic ripping yarn.
E. L. James
Deborah Harkness has done us proud with her magnificent, enthralling, engrossing sequel. . . Her weaving of time and ancient lore, of modern science and alchemy, of vampires, daemons and all-too-mortal humans is magical, wonderful and utterly additive. You won't be able to put it down.
Manda Scott
A bubbling cauldron of illicit desire. . . all the ingredients for an assured saga that blends romance with fantasy.
Daily Mail
An inventive addition to the supernatural craze. . . has exciting amounts of spells, kisses and battles, and is recounted with enchanting, page-turning panache.
Marie Claire