TOP Christmas Gift Books for 2018

TOP Christmas Gift Books for 2018

Are you still stumped on what to get your friends and family for Christmas? Look no further, as here at Team Bookends, we have curated a list of the best book gifts you could give! From stocking fillers to a treat for yourself in the New Year, Bookends is here to save the day.

 

The men in your life…

 

The Tour According to GHead HuntersSecret Service Brainteasers

If you have been following our Bookends Christmas Author Series, you will know that the men in our life are notoriously difficult to buy presents for.

Do you have a sporty Dad, or a brother who is looking to start cycling regularly in the New Year? Why not gift them The Tour According to G by Geraint Thomas, the inspirational inside story of the 2018 Tour de France from Geraint Thomas, the first Welshman and third Brit ever to win the Tour!

Or for something more thrilling, try Chris Ryan’s Head HuntersFormer SAS corporal and the only man to escape death or capture during the Bravo Two Zero operation in the 1991 Gulf War, Chris Ryan turned to writing thrillers to tell the stories the Official Secrets Act stops him putting in his non-fiction.

Or if you know someone who likes to think they are a secret agent, test their skills with Secret Service Brainteasers.

 

Foodie Lovers…

 

Mary Berry Fast CakesCheeky treats

If you miss Mary’s wisdom and inspiration in The Great British Bake Off, or want a brand-new companion to Mary Berry’s Christmas Collection, Fast Cakes is the cookbook for you with over 200 easy recipes to make with confidence. Perfect for fans of the Bake Off or girlfriends who want to learn a new (and tasty) skill in 2019!

Or perhaps you have a friend who into discovering new flavours and dishes? Khazana is a new Indo-Persian cookbook filled with recipes inspired by the Mughals and written by Masterchef Winner in 2017, Saliha Mahmood Ahmed.

Maybe you have a food-lover in your life who wants to know more about the great TV chefs we watch weekly? Cheeky Treats is the debut cookbook from Bake Off’s Liam Charles and is great for those who want to get creative with their bakes.

Lifestyle and entertainment…

 

Blowing the bloody doors offCraftfulnessDiscovery of Witches

Got a film-buff in your life? Hollywood legend and British national treasure Michael Caine shares the wisdom, stories, insight and skills that life has taught him in his remarkable career in Blowing the Bloody Doors Off.

Or for your more crafty friends, Craftulnessan all-you-need-to-know friendly guide to inspire you to give making a go – is the perfect fit!

Know someone who has been obsessed with Sky’s adaptation of A Discovery of Witches? Gift them the book that inspired the hit TV show!

 

Last minute stocking fillers…

 

CosyArt MattersTrue or poo?

With Christmas comes cosiness. In Cosy: The British Art of Comfort, Laura Weir celebrates the very best of our cool and quirky traditions and habits and rituals with a big dose of comfort.

Do you have a budding artist in the family? Drawn together from speeches, poems and creative manifestos, Art Matters explores how reading, imagining and creating can change the world, and will be inspirational to young and old.

How many spiders do you eat in your sleep? What does the ice-cream you eat have to do with the back end of a beaver? Do komodo dragons have toxic slobber? If these are the kind of questions you are constantly hearing a child (or adult . . . ) in the family ask, then True or Poo? is the perfect stocking filler!

 

A treat for yourself!

 

A Winter Beneath the StarsWinter Without YouA Spark of Light

Christmas can be chaotic, so take a moment to yourself and enjoy some quality ‘me-time’ by snuggling up with one of these cosy reads.

A Winter Beneath the Stars by Jo Thomas is an unforgettable winter story, which follows Halley as she embarks on the journey of a lifetime to snowy Sweden.

Winter Without You by Beth Good is a cosy winter romance to warm you heart, perfect for fans of Heidi Swain and Lucy Diamond.

A Spark of Light by Jodi Picoult is a powerful and provocative new novel about ordinary lives intersecting during a moment of heart-stopping crisis.

 

From everyone here at Team Bookends, we wish you a very Merry Christmas and good luck with your Christmas shopping!