TOP Christmas Gift Books for 2018

TOP Christmas Gift Books for 2018

Are you still stumped on what to get your friends and family for Christmas? Look no further, as here at Team Bookends, we have curated a list of the best book gifts you could give! From stocking fillers to a treat for yourself in the New Year, Bookends is here to save the day.

 

The men in your life…

 

The Tour According to GHead HuntersSecret Service Brainteasers

If you have been following our Bookends Christmas Author Series, you will know that the men in our life are notoriously difficult to buy presents for.

Do you have a sporty Dad, or a brother who is looking to start cycling regularly in the New Year? Why not gift them The Tour According to G by Geraint Thomas, the inspirational inside story of the 2018 Tour de France from Geraint Thomas, the first Welshman and third Brit ever to win the Tour!

Or for something more thrilling, try Chris Ryan’s Head HuntersFormer SAS corporal and the only man to escape death or capture during the Bravo Two Zero operation in the 1991 Gulf War, Chris Ryan turned to writing thrillers to tell the stories the Official Secrets Act stops him putting in his non-fiction.

Or if you know someone who likes to think they are a secret agent, test their skills with Secret Service Brainteasers.

 

Foodie Lovers…

 

Mary Berry Fast CakesCheeky treats

If you miss Mary’s wisdom and inspiration in The Great British Bake Off, or want a brand-new companion to Mary Berry’s Christmas Collection, Fast Cakes is the cookbook for you with over 200 easy recipes to make with confidence. Perfect for fans of the Bake Off or girlfriends who want to learn a new (and tasty) skill in 2019!

Or perhaps you have a friend who into discovering new flavours and dishes? Khazana is a new Indo-Persian cookbook filled with recipes inspired by the Mughals and written by Masterchef Winner in 2017, Saliha Mahmood Ahmed.

Maybe you have a food-lover in your life who wants to know more about the great TV chefs we watch weekly? Cheeky Treats is the debut cookbook from Bake Off’s Liam Charles and is great for those who want to get creative with their bakes.

Lifestyle and entertainment…

 

Blowing the bloody doors offCraftfulnessDiscovery of Witches

Got a film-buff in your life? Hollywood legend and British national treasure Michael Caine shares the wisdom, stories, insight and skills that life has taught him in his remarkable career in Blowing the Bloody Doors Off.

Or for your more crafty friends, Craftulnessan all-you-need-to-know friendly guide to inspire you to give making a go – is the perfect fit!

Know someone who has been obsessed with Sky’s adaptation of A Discovery of Witches? Gift them the book that inspired the hit TV show!

 

Last minute stocking fillers…

 

CosyArt MattersTrue or poo?

With Christmas comes cosiness. In Cosy: The British Art of Comfort, Laura Weir celebrates the very best of our cool and quirky traditions and habits and rituals with a big dose of comfort.

Do you have a budding artist in the family? Drawn together from speeches, poems and creative manifestos, Art Matters explores how reading, imagining and creating can change the world, and will be inspirational to young and old.

How many spiders do you eat in your sleep? What does the ice-cream you eat have to do with the back end of a beaver? Do komodo dragons have toxic slobber? If these are the kind of questions you are constantly hearing a child (or adult . . . ) in the family ask, then True or Poo? is the perfect stocking filler!

 

A treat for yourself!

 

A Winter Beneath the StarsWinter Without YouA Spark of Light

Christmas can be chaotic, so take a moment to yourself and enjoy some quality ‘me-time’ by snuggling up with one of these cosy reads.

A Winter Beneath the Stars by Jo Thomas is an unforgettable winter story, which follows Halley as she embarks on the journey of a lifetime to snowy Sweden.

Winter Without You by Beth Good is a cosy winter romance to warm you heart, perfect for fans of Heidi Swain and Lucy Diamond.

A Spark of Light by Jodi Picoult is a powerful and provocative new novel about ordinary lives intersecting during a moment of heart-stopping crisis.

 

From everyone here at Team Bookends, we wish you a very Merry Christmas and good luck with your Christmas shopping!
He’s making a list, and checking it twice…

He’s making a list, and checking it twice…

Next up in our Christmas author series, we asked our lovely authors Erin Kelly, Joanna Bolouri, Olivia Beirne and Daniela Sacerdoti a very important festive question: if you had to buy a Christmas gift for one of your characters, who would you choose and why?

 

Erin Kelly, author of He Said/She Said

Alice, the little girl from The Poison Tree, would be nineteen now. With parents like hers, she could probably do with a spa weekend or a course of therapy.

Joanna Bolouri, author of Relight My Fire

I would buy Phoebe from The List an iTunes gift card as she needs a better taste in music.

Olivia Beirne, author of The List That Changed My Life

Oh gosh that’s a good question. I think they’d all be terrible to buy for. I reckon I’d have to buy for Georgia and I think she’d really enjoy one of those cushion scarfs so that she could nap on the tube/in meetings/flick her sunglasses down so Sally can’t see her eyes when she’s talking. As I’m writing this, I realise that I would also really enjoy one of those and why haven’t I done all of those things sooner? 

Daniela Sacerdoti, author of I Will Find You

Oh, that’s hard…I would buy for all of them and feel bad if I forgot one! I think I would pick Cora from I Will Find You, and I would give her a voucher for John Lewis – I know a voucher can sound quite anonymous, but Cora loves weaving and sewing, and the selection of fabrics and craft materials in John Lewis is amazing…so I think she could go and have a little splurge on me. I would also like to make a girly package for Anna from Take Me Home, with a nice top and make up. Anna loves pretty things but she tends not to indulge herself, and treat her daughter instead (like most mums do!). So I’d like to spoil her a little.

He said she saidRelight my fireThe List That Changed My LifeI Will Find You

The books I'll be giving this year…

The books I'll be giving this year…

Everybody knows that the best present you can give someone is a book. It shows that person how well you know them. It shows them that you’ve really thought about them, that you wanted to give them something they could cherish.

Oh, and it shows that you’re a magpie for a good looking jacket!

Here’s some of the books our authors will be giving their (lucky) friends this year…

Louise O’Neill, author of Asking For It and Only Ever Yours

  • The Power by Naomi Alderman
  • Trainwreck by Sady Doyle
  • In The Dark, In the Woods by Eliza Wass.
  • Salt by Nayyirah Waheed

And I’ll be telling everyone to buy Homegoing by Yaa Gyasi in January!

Louise O'Neill books

Tracy Rees, author of Florence Grace and Amy Snow 

Oh what a glorious prospect! Christmas… books… the perfect combo. So this year I’m giving anyone and everyone books by the wonderful Lucinda Riley. This was the year that I discovered her Seven Sisters series and like everyone else I know, I’m captivated. Whilst waiting (impatiently) for the fourth in the series to be released next year I’m working my way through her backlist – and her books make perfect gifts – fat, compelling and brilliant stories.

I’m also giving Snowdrift and Other Stories by Georgette Heyer. It’s a newly assembled collection of her short stories in a gorgeously packaged Christmassy-looking hardback with an elegant white cover. She’s the master of the plumy language, the rakish roguery, that I love so much, and so it makes an ideal gift for those of my friends who love regency fiction.

And last but not least, Under a Pole Star by Stef Penney, published by my own lovely Quercus. A long-awaited publication and beautifully packaged of course. It’ll wrap up beautifully with plenty of ribbons and will be perfect for curling up with a mulled wine. I mean for whoever I give it to of course. Not me. I’m not stealing it. I’m not…

Louise Lee, author of A Girl Called Love 

Vargic’s Miscellany of Curious Maps: The Atlas of Everything You Never Knew You Needed to Know (Martin Vargic).

I LOVE maps and this wonderfully strange coffee table book is full of them. Gorgeous and bizarre infographic ones, its data ranging from sport to sexual partners to tractors.

The Seven Storey Mountain (Thomas Merton).

The story of how a brilliant man became a Trappist monk.  Lucky for the reader, Merton is an astonishing writer. His lifelong search for faith and peace was a rocky one, and utterly inspirational. 

Midwinter (Fiona Melrose).

A mesmerising debut, tender and lyrical. The story of Suffolk farmers haunted by a past they refuse to confront; I was lost in it from the first to last page. A luscious read.  

If you liked this post, then why not catch up on…

Emma Hannigan shares her favourite gingerbread cake recipe 

Della Parker takes us behind the scenes of The Reading Group