Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Our top audiobooks to pass the time with

Audiobook recommendations

With more and more of us looking for things to do whilst at home, it’s not surprise lots of us are turning to audiobooks to pass the time with. We’ve put together a list of several audiobooks we think are perfect to get completely absorbed in!

 

One Moment by Linda Green

One Moment audio

A moving story about two strangers who change each other’s lives, from the million copy bestselling author

Finn and Kaz are about to meet for the first time.
Ten-year-old Finn, a quirky, sensitive boy who talks a lot and only eats at cafes with a 5-star hygiene rating, is having a tough time at school and home.
Outspoken Kaz, 59, who has an acerbic sense of humour and a heart of gold, is working at the café when Finn and his mum come in.
They don’t know it yet, but the second time they meet will be a moment which changes both of their lives forever . . .


THOSE WHO ARE LOVED – Victoria Hislop

(read by actress Juliet Stevenson)

Those Who Are Loved audiobook

The gripping new novel by Sunday Times number one best seller Victoria Hislop is set against the backdrop of the German occupation of Greece, the subsequent civil war and a military dictatorship, all of which left deep scars. 

Themis is part of a family bitterly divided by politics and, as a young woman, her fury with those who have collaborated with the Nazis drives her to fight for the Communists.

She is eventually imprisoned on the notorious islands of exile, Makronisos and Trikeri, and has to make a life or death decision. She is proud of having fought, but for the rest of her life is haunted by some of her actions. Forty years after the end of the civil war, she finally achieves catharsis.

Victoria Hislop sheds light on the complexity of Greece’s traumatic past and weaves it into the dynamic tale of a woman who is both hero and villain, and her lifelong fight for justice.

 

The Lost Child by Emily Gunnis

(read by actress Emilia Fox)

The Lost Child audio

Some novels hold you in their spell and never let go….

Unravel the mystery of The Lost Child. Listen to the heart-wrenching new novel from the author of the international best seller The Girl in the Letter, Emily Gunnis.

A tragic death. A missing baby. A long-kept secret….

  1. Thirteen-year-old, Rebecca, and her mother, live in fear of Rebecca’s father’s violent temper. As a storm batters Seaview Cottage one night, Rebecca hears a visitor at the door and an argument ensues. By the time the police arrive, the visitor has fled and both Rebecca’s parents are dead. No one believes Rebecca’s story that she heard a stranger downstairs….
  2. Iris, a journalist, is sent to cover the story of a new mother on the run with her desperately ill baby, as the police race against time to find them. When the trail leads back to Seaview Cottage, the childhood home of Iris’s own mother, Rebecca, Iris must unravel the events of the night Rebecca is desperate to forget, for Seaview Cottage to give up its secrets.

 

Her Husband’s Mistake by Sheila O’Flanagan 

Her Husband's Mistake audio

Should a woman be ready to forgive and forget to save her marriage? Roxy’s not so sure….

The riveting new novel from number one best-selling author Sheila O’Flanagan. Perfect for fans of Marian Keyes and Kerry Fisher.

When Roxy comes home unexpectedly one day to give her husband, Dave, a lovely surprise, it’s Roxy who gets shock of her life. And all she wants to do is run away.

Roxy knows she has to face up to what’s happened and decide: forgive and forget, or bring an end to a decade-long marriage. Surely the right thing is to get over it – that’s what Dave thinks. After all, it’s just one mistake….

But Roxy finds it’s not so simple. Especially when another secret starts to emerge. Her friends and family all know what they’d do – but they’re not Roxy….

A Forget-Me-Not Summer by Sophie Claire

A Forget-Me-Not Summer audio

The cosy and charming second novel from Sophie Claire, author of The Christmas Holiday. The perfect listen for fans of Trisha Ashley and Cathy Bramley!  

It’s taken years, but Natasha Brown’s life is finally on track. Running a florist’s in the quaint village of Willowbrook, she’s put her short-lived marriage to Luc Duval far behind her. That is, until he unexpectedly walks through her shop door, three years after their divorce.

Luc reveals that he never told his family about their split, and now his father is desperately ill and demanding to meet Natasha. Luc needs her to come to France and pretend they’re still happily married. Natasha is horrified but, when Luc makes her an offer she can’t refuse, reluctantly packs her bags.

The deal is two weeks on a vineyard with his family, but will Luc and Natasha be able to play the perfect couple after years apart? And in the glorious Provence sun, will the old spark between them be impossible to ignore?

Is it Just Me? By Miranda Hart

Is It Just Me?

Winner: Popular Non-Fiction Book of the Year – Specsavers National Book Awards 2012

Well hello to you dear audiobook browser. Now I have your attention it would be rude if I didn’t tell you a little about my literary feast.

So, here is the thing: Is it just me or does anyone else find that adulthood offers no refuge from the unexpected horrors, peculiar lack of physical coordination, and sometimes unexplained nudity that accompanied childhood and adolescence? Does everybody struggle with the hazards that accompany, say, sitting elegantly on a bar stool; using chopsticks; pretending to understand the bank crisis; pedicures – surely it’s plain wrong for a stranger to fondle your feet? Or is it just me?

I am proud to say I have a wealth of awkward experiences – from school days to life as an office temp – and here I offer my 18-year-old self (and I hope you, too, dear listener) some much needed caution and guidance on how to navigate life’s rocky path. Because frankly where is the manual? The much needed manual to life. Well, fret not, for this is my attempt at one and let’s call it, because it’s fun, a Miran-ual. I thank you.

 

Coming Soon…

 

The Switch by Beth O’Leary

(read by Alison Steadman and Daisy Edgar Jones)

The Switch audio

The funny and uplifting new novel from the bestselling author of The Flatshare. 

Eileen is sick of being 79.
Leena’s tired of life in her twenties.
Maybe it’s time they swapped places…

When overachiever Leena Cotton is ordered to take a two-month sabbatical after blowing a big presentation at work, she escapes to her grandmother Eileen’s house for some overdue rest. Eileen is newly single and about to turn eighty. She’d like a second chance at love, but her tiny Yorkshire village doesn’t offer many eligible gentlemen.
Once Leena learns of Eileen’s romantic predicament, she proposes a solution: a two-month swap. Eileen can live in London and look for love. Meanwhile Leena will look after everything in rural Yorkshire. But with gossiping neighbours and difficult family dynamics to navigate up north, and trendy London flatmates and online dating to contend with in the city, stepping into one another’s shoes proves more difficult than either of them expected.

 

The Switch audiobook is available 16th April