The Bookends Reading Group

Read an excerpt

From the author of The House Between Tides, comes an atmospheric and stunningly evocative historical novel. Perfect for fans of Sarah Perry’s The Essex Serpent.

‘Maine writes beautifully’ THE TIMES

Scotland,1893. Nineteen-year-old Evelyn Ballantyre, the daughter of a wealthy landowner, has rarely strayed from her family’s estate in the Scottish Borders. She was once close to her philanthropist father, but his silence over what really happened on the day a poacher was shot on  estate  land has come between them.

An invitation to accompany her father to Canada is a chance for Evelyn to escape her limited existence.  But once there, on the wild and turbulent Nipigon river, she  is shocked to discover that their guide is James Douglas, Ballantyre’s former stable hand, and once her friend. He  disappeared the night of the murder, charged with the shooting.

Evelyn never believed that James was guilty – and her father’s role in the killing has always been mysterious.  What does he have to hide? In the wild landscape of a new world, far from the constraints of polite society,  the secrets and lies surrounding that  night are finally stripped away, with dramatic consequences.

*****

‘Stunning’ Booklist

‘Riveting’ Publishers Weekly

‘Maine’s gift of setting the mood shines’ RT Reviews

About the Author

Sarah Maine was born in England but grew up partly in Canada before returning to England for university. She studied archaeology and for many years worked in the profession but is now a freelance writer and researcher. She lives in York with her family. Sarah’s debut novel was published as Bhalla Strand in the UK and as The House Between Tides in the US. Beyond the Wild River is her second novel.