Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

The Bench

The Bench

It will always be their place . . . but will it ever be the right time?

Perfect for fans of
One Day and Me Before You, this is a tragic love story spanning three decades that starts and ends on a bench. The most heartbreaking novel to date by the Richard & Judy Book Club bestselling author Saskia Sarginson.

It begins at the end.

It begins on a bench, on a heath, where a woman waits for a man.

Ten years ago, they made a pact:

On this bench, on this day, they will end a love affair that’s spanned three decades, or start again.

They should never have met. They should never have fallen in love.

But they did, until a lie separated them for a lifetime.

Can they fix the mistake, forgive the lie, erase the years in-between?

Can what was lost ever truly be found?

Praise for Saskia Sarginson:


‘Beautifully evoked’ Sunday Mirror

‘Stunning’ Judy Finnigan, Richard & Judy Book Club

‘Wonderful’ Rosamund Lupton

‘Outstandingly good’ Sun

‘Enthralling’ Ruth Ware

‘Haunting’ Independent

‘Engrossing’ Lisa Ballantyne

Compelling’ Candis

‘Absorbing’
Heat
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Modern & Contemporary Fiction (post C 1945)

On Sale: 19th March 2020

Price: £14.99

ISBN-13: 9780349420004

Reviews

Praise for Saskia Sarginson:
Stunning in its insight and beautifully written
Judy Finnigan, Richard & Judy Book Club
Atmospheric, readable, beautifully evoked
Sunday Mirror
Stunning writing and wonderful nuanced characterisation. I was hooked
Rosamund Lupton
Outstandingly good. Part thriller, part love story, I guarantee you will not be able to put it down
Sun
Haunting
Independent
This enthralling read will keep you up long into the night
Ruth Ware
An engrossing read with endearing characters thrust into traumatic circumstances. It stayed with me long after the last page
Lisa Ballantyne
Inspirational and compelling
Candis
An absorbing account of unbreakable and uncanny bonds
Heat
Thumpingly good
Good Housekeeping