M for Mammy By Eleanor O’Reilly

M for Mammy By Eleanor O’Reilly

‘M is for Mammy. It’s also for Marvellous! What a wonderful story – in turns heart-breaking, heartwarming, and hilarious. Granny Mae-Anne is a FABULOUS creation.’ – Ruth Hogan

A heart-warming debut about love and language and the power of a family to heal itself

M for Mammy is a gloriously funny, bittersweet debut novel, reminiscent of the work of Roddy Doyle. It follows the fortunes of the Augustt family as they struggle to cope when Annette, the mother, suffers a stroke and is sent away to Dublin for rehabilitation.

Inimitable matriarch Granny Mae-Anne is enlisted to help and sweeps in with her cleaning products and her pictures of the pope. She doesn’t have much time for her feckless son in law Kevin, but would do anything for her grandchildren, Jacob who is five and has been diagnosed with autism, and Jenny, ten, who is besotted with books and stories and knows more about what is going on than anyone gives her credit for. Everyone is worried about how Jacob is coping, but no one seems to notice Jenny spinning off the rails. Will Mae-Anne be able to hold everything together until Annette comes home? Can they ever be a proper family again, when so much has changed?

M For Mammy by Eleanor O’Reilly is published in hardback on 21st March 2019 by Two Roads and is available for pre-order

On My Life by Angela Clarke

On My Life by Angela Clarke

“What an amazing, roller-coaster ride and also a searing indictment of the way women are treated in prison. Highly recommended. Elly Griffiths, author of The Stranger Diaries

Framed. Imprisoned. Pregnant.

Jenna thought she had the perfect life: a loving fiancé, a great job, a beautiful home.

Then she finds her stepdaughter murdered; her partner missing.

And the police think she did it…

Locked up to await trial, surrounded by prisoners who’d hurt her if they knew what she’s accused of, certain someone close to her has framed her, Jenna knows what she needs to do:

Clear her name.

Save her baby.

Find the killer.

But can she do it in time?

On My Life by Angela Clarke is out now in eBook. Available here.

The Mummy Lessons By Helen Wallen

The Mummy Lessons By Helen Wallen

Parenting: The Rules

1) Try to sleep when the baby sleeps (SO NEVER. EVER. UNTIL YOU ARE AN EMPTY WINE-SOAKED HUSK AND FALL DOWN DEAD IN THE BABY AISLE AT TESCO.)

2) Eat when the baby sleeps (SEE POINT ABOVE.)

3) Remember to take time to pause and cherish these special days (HAHAHA . . .  YOU’RE KIDDING, RIGHT?)

After a tough pregnancy, Emily is determined to tackle motherhood like a pro. But she quickly learns that Insta-Perfect-Parenting (and sleep) is hard to come by, no matter how much money you spend in Mothercare.

Irritatingly, her friend Molly seems to be breezing it. But with a business venture as well as a baby, is she taking on too much?

Liz looks as though she might have it all worked out. But when a tragedy derails her relationship, she has some serious decisions to make. From rhyme time to wine time, THE MUMMY LESSONS follows a year of highs and lows for Emily, Molly and Liz as they learn the hardest lesson of all: that life doesn’t always follow the rules . . .

The Mummy Lessons by Helen Wallen is published in paperback on 21st March 2019 and is available for pre-order now

The Sisterhood by Daisy Buchanan

The Sisterhood by Daisy Buchanan

For fans of Bryony Gordon and Dolly Alderton, The Sisterhood is an honest and hilarious book which celebrates the ways in which women connect with each other.

‘My five sisters are the only women I would ever kill for. And they are the only women I have ever wanted to kill.’

Imagine living between the pages of Pride And Prejudice, in the Bennett household. Now, imagine how the Bennett girls as they’d be in the 21st century – looking like the Kardashian sisters, but behaving like the Simpsons. This is the house Daisy Buchanan grew up in,

Daisy’s memoir The Sisterhood explores what it’s like to live as a modern woman by examining some examples close to home – her adored and infuriating sisters. There’s Beth, the rebellious contrarian; Grace, the overachiever with a dark sense of humour; Livvy, the tough girl who secretly cries during adverts; Maddy, essentially Descartes with a beehive; and Dotty, the joker obsessed with RuPaul’s Drag Race and bears.

In this tender, funny and unflinchingly honest account Daisy examines her relationship with her sisters and what it’s made up of – friendship, insecurity jokes, jealousy and above all, love – while celebrating the ways in which women connect with each other and finding the ways in which we’re all sisters under the skin.

The Hideaway by Sheila O’Flanagan

The Hideaway by Sheila O’Flanagan

The breathtaking novel from Sunday Times bestselling Sheila O’Flanagan

What would you do if you discovered you were living a lie?

When a shocking news report shatters Juno Ryan’s world, she suddenly finds herself without the man she loves – and with no way of getting the answers she needs.

Juno flees to the enchanting Villa Naranja in Spain. The blue skies and orange groves – along with Pep, the local winemaker’s handsome son – begin to soothe her broken heart. But just when she begins to feel whole again, another bombshell drops.

Juno might have run away from her secrets, but the past isn’t finished with her…

The Hideaway is out in paperback now. Buy here.

The Night Tiger by Yangsze Choo

The Night Tiger by Yangsze Choo


‘A sumptuous garden maze of a novel’ 
Kirkus Reviews

They say a tiger that devours too many humans can take the form of a man and walk among us…

In 1930s colonial Malaya, a dissolute British doctor receives a surprise gift of an eleven-year-old Chinese houseboy. Sent as a bequest from an old friend, young Ren has a mission: to find his dead master’s severed finger and reunite it with his body. Ren has forty-nine days, or else his master’s soul will roam the earth forever.

Ji Lin, an apprentice dressmaker, moonlights as a dancehall girl to pay her mother’s debts. One night, Ji Lin’s dance partner leaves her with a gruesome souvenir that leads her on a crooked, dark trail.

As time runs out for Ren’s mission, a series of unexplained deaths occur amid rumours of tigers who turn into men. In their journey to keep a promise and discover the truth, Ren and Ji Lin’s paths will cross in ways they will never forget.

Captivating and lushly written, The Night Tiger explores the rich world of servants and masters, ancient superstition and modern ambition, sibling rivalry and unexpected love. Woven through with Chinese folklore and a tantalizing mystery, this novel is a page-turner of the highest order.

Buy it now!

Animal Matters by Charlotte Rea

Animal Matters by Charlotte Rea

‘Heartwarming and hilarious’ Telegraph

An unusual dalmation, a TV star with cancer, an out-of-control budgie. Charlotte Rea has seen them all, and more.

Animal Matters is Charlotte’s diary of real-life cases written during a one year of her work as a veterinary surgeon in a 24-hour inner-city London animal charity. The diary reveals the reality of working as a vet, how it can be both emotional and amusing, one minute you can be consoling an owner on the loss of their much-loved pet, the next trying to catch an escaped budgie. Charlotte mixes deeply sad moments with amusing and unimaginable ones along with more detailed accounts and reflections back on her training and the experiences she has come up against over the decade since she graduated.

Throughout the book you will get to know both the animals and the people and how close the bond between us can be. Charlotte also discusses contemporary issues in veterinary medicine such as animal euthanasia, RSPCA welfare cases, mental health issues within the veterinary profession, ethical concerns around pedigree dog breeding and the laws on dangerous dogs.

Animal Matters is a moving and heartwarming book about the unconditional love between animals and humans.

Buy it now!

When You Read This by Mary Adkins

When You Read This by Mary Adkins

Iris Massey is gone.

But she’s left something behind.

For four years, Iris Massey worked side by side with PR maven Smith Simonyi, helping clients perfect their brands. But Iris has died, taken by terminal illness at only thirty-three. Adrift without his friend and colleague, Smith is surprised to discover that in her last six months, Iris created a blog filled with sharp and often funny musings on the end of a life not quite fulfilled. She also made one final request: for Smith to get her posts published as a book. With the help of his charmingly eager, if overbearingly forthright, new intern Carl, Smith tackles the task of fulfilling Iris’s last wish.

Before he can do so, though, he must get the approval of Iris’s big sister Jade, an haute cuisine chef who’s been knocked sideways by her loss. Each carrying their own baggage, Smith and Jade end up on a collision course with their own unresolved pasts and with each other.

Funny and moving in equal measures, When You Read This is a sparkling debut about love, life, and all the emails you really wish you’d never sent.


Buy it now!

The Single Ladies of Jacaranda Retirement Village by Joanna Nell

The Single Ladies of Jacaranda Retirement Village by Joanna Nell

‘Hugely entertaining . . . funny and heart-warming’ Woman & Home

‘A gentle, warm-hearted book that had me rooting for all the characters and laughing out loud at points’ Libby Page, author of The Lido

It’s never too late to grow old disgracefully…

The life of 79-year-old pensioner Peggy Smart is as beige as the décor in her retirement village. Her week revolves around aqua aerobics and appointments with her doctor. The highlight of Peggy’s day is watching her neighbour Brian head out for his morning swim.

Peggy dreams of inviting the handsome widower – treasurer of the Residents’ Committee and one of the few eligible men in the village – to an intimate dinner. But why would an educated man like Brian, a chartered accountant no less, look twice at Peggy? As a woman of a certain age, she fears she has become invisible, even to men in their eighties.

But a chance encounter with an old school friend she hasn’t seen in five decades – the glamorous fashionista Angie Valentine – sets Peggy on an unexpected journey of self-discovery.

Can she channel her ‘inner Helen Mirren’ and find love and friendship in her twilight years?

Buy on Amazon here.