Read an exclusive extract from The Swap by Fiona Mitchell

Read an exclusive extract from The Swap by Fiona Mitchell

Read an extract from Fiona Mitchell’s gripping and heartbreaking new story, The Swap

Two women. Two children. But whose is whose?

When two strangers, Tess and Annie, undergo IVF at an American clinic, their embryos are mixed up and each woman gives birth to the wrong child.

The women only discover the devastating error three years later. Tess wants to swap the children back; Annie doesn’t. As the pair wrangle, neither of them expect what unfolds.

Read an extract, and pick up a copy of The Swap now.

Read an exclusive extract from The Gift of Friends by Emma Hannigan

Read an exclusive extract from The Gift of Friends by Emma Hannigan

From the Number One bestselling author Emma Hannigan comes her new novel, The Gift of Friends, a magical story of love, friendship and hope.

Kingfisher Road – a leafy, peaceful street in the town of Vayhill. But there are whispers behind closed doors. Who is moving into Number 10?

Engaged to handsome, wealthy Justin Johnston, Danielle appears to her new neighbours to have the perfect, glossy life. But not everything is as it seems…

In fact, each of the other four women who live close by has a secret, and each is nursing their own private heartache.

But could a gift be waiting on their doorsteps? And, by opening their front doors, and their hearts, to each other, could the women of Kingfisher Road discover all the help they need?

Read the extract here: The Gift of Friends Extract

Buy The Gift of Friends here.

Read the first chapter of The Girl in the Letter by Emily Gunnis

Read the first chapter of The Girl in the Letter by Emily Gunnis

Perfect for fans of Kate Morton and Kathryn Hughes, this gripping novel of long-buried secrets will stay with you for ever.

A heartbreaking letter. A girl locked away. A mystery to be solved.

1956. When Ivy Jenkins falls pregnant she is sent in disgrace to St Margaret’s, a dark, brooding house for unmarried mothers. Her baby is adopted against her will. Ivy will never leave.

Present day. Samantha Harper is a journalist desperate for a break. When she stumbles on a letter from the past, the contents shock and move her. The letter is from a young mother, begging to be rescued from St Margaret’s. Before it is too late. 
Sam is pulled into the tragic story and discovers a spate of unexplained deaths surrounding the woman and her child. With St Margaret’s set for demolition, Sam has only hours to piece together a sixty-year-old mystery before the truth, which lies disturbingly close to home, is lost for ever…

Read her letter. Remember her story…

Read the prologue and first chapter here: The Girl in the Letter extract

The Girl in the Letter

Buy The Girl in the Letter here

Exclusive sneak-peak of The Garden of Lost and Found by Harriet Evans

Exclusive sneak-peak of The Garden of Lost and Found by Harriet Evans

The new novel by Sunday Times bestseller Harriet Evans will enchant her fans with this unputdownable and heart-breaking tale of a family ripped apart and the extraordinary house they called home. Harriet writes the most delicious, epic stories from the heart since Maeve Binchy and Kate Morton.

Nightingale House, 1919. Liddy Horner discovers her husband, the world-famous artist Sir Edward Horner, burning his best-known painting The Garden of Lost and Found days before his sudden death.

Nightingale House was the Horner family’s beloved home – a gem of design created to inspire happiness – and it was here Ned painted The Garden of Lost and Found, capturing his children on a perfect day, playing in the rambling Eden he and Liddy made for them.

One magical moment. Before it all came tumbling down…

When Ned and Liddy’s great-granddaughter Juliet is sent the key to Nightingale House, she opens the door onto a forgotten world. The house holds its mysteries close but she is in search of answers. For who would choose to destroy what they love most? Whether Ned’s masterpiece – or, in Juliet’s case, her own children’s happiness.

Something shattered this corner of paradise. But what?

You can read an EXCLUSIVE sneak-peak extract from The Garden of Lost and Found by Harriet Evans here!

The Garden of Lost and Found is out in eBook and hardback on 18th April 2019. Pre-order here.

Read an extract from Friends like These: the unmissable new psychological thriller

Read an extract from Friends like These: the unmissable new psychological thriller

Read an exclusive Friends like These extract: as addictive as Friend Request, as gripping as The Girl Before.

Friends Like These banner

Lizzie hasn’t thought much about Becca since the accident.

She remembers the blood though. She can see how you wouldn’t be the same again after something like that. No one was surprised when Becca didn’t come back to work.

And Lizzie’s different these days too. She used to be the one in the shadows, stalking Becca’s perfect life online, but a lot has changed since then.

So when Becca’s ex shows up on Tinder, Lizzie swipes right. Why not? Doesn’t she deserve a chance at happiness as well?

Becca will have moved on. There’s no way she’d even remember Lizzie, no way she could know anything about her life – is there?

She’s about to find out that with a friend like Becca, she doesn’t need enemies…

See what readers are saying about FRIENDS LIKE THESE

‘a rollercoaster ride of plot twists and turns that will leave you breathless.’ NetGalley Reviewer

‘a cleverly written and well plotted thriller’ Goodreads Reviewer

I struggled to put this book down and read it at every opportunity.’ NetGalley Reviewer

‘this is a readable thriller packed with characters many of us will undoubtedly relate to.’ Amazon Reviewer

‘an incredibly modern and accessible psychological thriller.’ NetGalley Reviewer

Read the extract here: Friends like These extract.

Learn more about Friends like These here.

Read an exclusive extract from ‘The Secret Ladies of Jacaranda Retirement Village’ by Joanna Nell

Read an exclusive extract from ‘The Secret Ladies of Jacaranda Retirement Village’ by Joanna Nell

A moving, funny, heartwarming tale of love and friendship

If you fell for Harold Fry and The Keeper of Lost Things, you will love Peggy Smart and The Single Ladies of Jacaranda Retirement Village

It’s never too late to grow old disgracefully…

The life of 79-year-old pensioner Peggy Smart is as beige as the décor in her retirement village. Her week revolves around aqua aerobics and appointments with her doctor. The highlight of Peggy’s day is watching her neighbour Brian head out for his morning swim.

Peggy dreams of inviting the handsome widower – treasurer of the Residents’ Committee and one of the few eligible men in the village – to an intimate dinner. But why would an educated man like Brian, a chartered accountant no less, look twice at Peggy? As a woman of a certain age, she fears she has become invisible, even to men in their eighties.

But a chance encounter with an old school friend she hasn’t seen in five decades – the glamorous fashionista Angie Valentine – sets Peggy on an unexpected journey of self-discovery.

Can she channel her ‘inner Helen Mirren’ and find love and friendship in her twilight years?

Read an extract from The Single Ladies of Jacaranda Retirement Village here and don’t forget to order your copy – out now exclusively early in eBook!

I Will Find You, Daniela Sacerdoti

I Will Find You, Daniela Sacerdoti

I Will Find You is the latest book from bestselling author Daniela Sacerdoti. Following on from Keep Me Safe, this is the second in a new series set on the remote, beautiful island of Seal in the west of Scotland. A wonderful love story that will steal your heart away…read an exclusive extract here.

Two different women, divided by time, bound by fate…

After her beloved mother dies, Cora is heartbroken. When she discovers her mother has left her a cottage – a crumbling shelter on a remote and beautiful Scottish island – Cora hopes that travelling there will help her feel closer to the person she has lost. The moment she arrives on the wild, windswept island of Seal, Cora instantly falls under its spell. She is drawn to Innes, recently returned to the island to confront his past.

As Cora begins to unravel her mother’s connection to Seal, she learns the island has a dark, turbulent history. She is not the first lonely traveller to have sought refuge at Gealach Cottage. And there may be far more to her attraction to Innes than she could have ever imagined…

Available in eBook from the 17th May, you can pre-order your copy here

How to Find Love in the Little Things

How to Find Love in the Little Things

In the spirit of all things Valentines this week we’re releasing an exclusive extract of international bestseller Virginie Grimaldi’s feel-good read How To Find Love in the Little Things

A funny, moving and ultimately uplifting read that will enchant and entertain fans of Cecelia Ahern, Jojo Moyes and The Little Paris Bookshop.

‘Welcome to Ocean View. You don’t know it yet, but you’ll be happy here…

Julia’s not running away. Not exactly. She just needs a break from Paris and Marc and all the sad stuff that’s been going on lately. A little time to pull herself together.

The job offer felt like a lifeline. But now she’s back in Biarritz, suitcase in hand, she hasn’t the faintest idea what she was thinking.

What Julia doesn’t yet know is there’s more to the odds and ends of Ocean View than meet the eye. Behind the double doors lie broken hearts, lifelong secrets, a touch of romance and an unwavering passion for life. And sometimes it’s the most unlikely of places and people who help you find your way.’

Click here to read an exclusive extract

How To Find Love in the Little Things is available for pre-order here

 
 

*KLAXON* Exclusive extract

*KLAXON* Exclusive extract

If you love delving into some historical fiction, or were gripped by the TV series The Crown, we think we have just the thing for you with Gill Paul’s beautifully written novel Another Woman’s Husband . 

Two women who challenged the Crown.
Divided by time. Bound by a secret…

This is the latest gripping novel from the bestselling author of The Secret Wife. Beginning in Paris in 1997 with the death of Princess Diana, Another Woman’s Husband journeys back to 1934 when Wallis Simpson captures the heart of Edward, Prince of Wales. The novel also shines light on the close friendship between Wallis and Mary Kirk, who went on to marry Wallis’s second husband Ernest Simpson.

If passion, betrayal and a scandal surrounding the English crown sparks your interest you’ll be pleased to hear we have an EXCLUSIVE extract just for you to read here and you can pre order the eBook for just £1.99!

 

#MadGirl

#MadGirl

As it’s Mental Health Awareness Week we thought we’d share a snippet of Bryony Gordon reading from her bestselling book Mad Girl

‘It’s the snake in her brain that has told her ever since she was a teenager that her world is about to come crashing down: that her family might die if she doesn’t repeat a phrase 5 times, or that she might have murdered someone and forgotten about it.  It’s caused alopecia, bulimia, and drug dependency. And Bryony is sick of it. Keeping silent about her illness has given it a cachet it simply does not deserve, so here she shares her story with trademark wit and dazzling honesty.

Bryony has managed to laugh and live well while simultaneously grappling with her illness. Now it’s time for her to speak out. Writing with her characteristic warmth and dark humour, Bryony explores her relationship with her OCD and depression as only she can.

Mad Girl  is a shocking, funny, unpredictable, heart-wrenching, raw and jaw-droppingly truthful celebration of life with mental illness.’

If you liked this, why not get Shrill with Lindy West

or

Team Bookends spread a little happiness