We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

Daughter of Redwinter

Buy Now:

Audiobook Downloadable / ISBN-13: 9781473233744

Price: £21.99

ON SALE: 30th June 2022

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Fantasy

Disclosure: If you buy products using the retailer buttons above, we may earn a commission from the retailers you visit.

‘A real page-turner, one that kept me guessing, and pulling the rug out from under me’ Novel Notions

‘This fantasy world was beautiful and deadly . . . [I] adored this and will be recommending it to everyone’ Netgalley reviewer, ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐



Raine is seventeen-years-old and still on the run. She can see the dead, a secret that could get her killed. Seeking refuge with a deluded cult is her latest bad decision but rescuing an injured woman in the snow is soon revealed to be a horrific mistake. Hazia endangers not just Raine, but the whole world: she’s escaped from Redwinter, fortress-monastery of the Draoihn, the warrior magicians who answer to no king or queen of the land, but to their own Grand Master. They will stop at nothing to retrieve what she’s stolen.

Raine must survive by her wits, and her skill with a bow in a world turned upside down. A battle, a betrayal and a horrific revelation finds her herself inside Redwinter, where anyone caught communing with ghosts is put to death. As conspirators plot to release an ancient enemy, Raine’s ability to see the dead might be their only hope, but to use her power would see her condemned.

Readers absolutely love Daughter of Redwinter:

‘A world that won’t let you go, along with a strong heroine who pulls you in emotionally, in a story that thrills you . . . This book is a page-turner that kept you hooked the whole time and pulled the rug out from under me!‘ Netgalley reviewer, ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐

‘The world itself is fantastic, medieval in structure and Scottish in flavour . . . As the first book of a new series, I couldn’t have asked for any more, it’s gripping, exciting, and I want more‘ Netgalley reviewer, ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐

A girl who can see ghosts, betrayal, intrigue, magic – sounds right up my alley! The worldbuilding in this book was fascinating, and I really liked the Scottish-inspired setting and clan dynamics . . . Seeing Raine grow throughout the story was fascinating, and I loved her (flawed) perspective – she’s a great heroine and I’m excited to see what she gets up to in the sequel’ Netgalley reviewer, ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐

‘The work of an author bursting with confidence, weaving a tale full of magic, mystery and intrigue‘ Mike Shackle, author of The Last War

A glorious reconfiguration of classic fantasy with a fresh, fascinating protagonist’ David Wragg, author of The Blackhawks

What's Inside

Read More Read Less

Reviews

Uncommonly vivid and vigorous . . . a superior start to a promising new saga
Publishers Weekly
Daughter of Redwinter has it all: enigmatic characters, shady politics, secret cults, ancient evils, and a young woman grappling with her own shattered identity while navigating a world in which no one is quite what they seem
Nicholas Eames, author of Kings of the Wyld
Oozes with menace and enthralls with beautifully imperfect characters and its own rich, dark mythology
Grimdark Magazine
The work of an author bursting with confidence, weaving a tale full of magic, mystery and intrigue
Mike Shackle, author of We Are the Dead
Sad, exciting, mysterious and beautifully plotted, with characters who have taken up residence in my head
Catriona Ward, Sunday Times bestselling author of Sundial
A spellbinding piece of fantasy; a unique world with morally grey characters abound, a fascinating magic system, buried history that oozes to the surface, and a young female protagonist you won't soon forget. Highly recommend
FanFiAddict
A fascinating magic system, thoughtful prose, and a truly compelling main character . . . for fans of complicated yet lovable protagonists, twisty, intriguing plots, and fantasy that flirts with the edge of horror
M.J. Kuhn, author of Among Thieves
Raine is my new favourite hero
Roz Kaveny
A glorious reconfiguration of classic fantasy with a fresh, fascinating protagonist . . . a cracking read, full of heart, humour and lyrical prose in a world full of secret histories with the promise of so much more to come
David Wragg, author of The Blackhawks
McDonald's medieval fantasy world feels lived-in, with a robust history, an intricate magic system, and a host of fascinating characters, but Raine herself-vulnerable but fierce, direct, and almost ruthlessly practical-is the heart of this memorable story.
Booklist
Mysterious, honest, and exciting from start to finish, Daughter of Redwinter has the goods. . . . A real page-turner, one that kept me guessing, and pulling the rug out from under me
Novel Notions
A thought-provoking story about a girl caught up in the whirlwind of ancient magic and the threat of war, and how even the smallest choices can affect our lives, perfect for fans of Patrick Rothfuss and the Robert Jordan
The Nerd Daily
The twists and turns are fast-paced and shocking; the conclusion of this installation is satisfying . . . you'll love the unique magic system and incredible cast of characters
Geek Girl Authority
If you like fantasy stories that take you to wondrous places that are also brimming with ghostly beings, this is your book. If you like fantasy stories with characters who are immensely compelling and not perfect, this is your book. If you like fantasy stories that ooze with danger and peril around every corner, this is your book. And finally, if you like fantasy stories that are so expertly written that you can see and feel the action playing out in your head so vividly that you believe it's all totally real, then THIS IS YOUR BOOK!
Out of This World SFF
I'm still thinking about a lot of it days after finishing it . . . an excellent start to a new fantasy series
Biblio Nerd Reflections
This is an incredible fantasy that subverts the reader's expectations every chance it gets, and I can't recommend it strongly enough
Every Book a Doorway

The Redwinter Chronicles