Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Our October eBook Deals!

Autumn has well and truly arrived, and here at Bookends HQ we’ve stocked up on warm socks, woolly blankets, and mugs of hot chocolate…

This weekend, why not escape from the cold and treat yourself to a brand new read to curl up with?

From a gripping memoir about one woman’s brushes with death, to the uplifting tale of a pensioner learning to grow old disgracefully… whatever your mood, take a look at our October eBook deals to find your next great read!

 

  

I am, I am, I am by Maggie O’Farrell

7 weeks in the Sunday Times top 10 this summer and now available for 99p!

A fantastic offer for one of the landmark publications of 2018.  It is an extraordinarily intimate memoir of the the brushes with death that have made Maggie O’Farrell the woman and the writer she is today. Insightful, inspirational, intelligent, it is a book to be read at a sitting, a story you finish newly conscious of life’s fragility, determined to make every heartbeat count.

 

The Single Ladies of Jacaranda Retirement Village by Joanna Nell

 As a woman of a certain age, pensioner Peggy Smart fears she has become invisible, even to men in their eighties.
But a chance encounter with an old school friend she hasn’t seen in five decades – the glamorous fashionista Angie Valentine – sets Peggy on an unexpected journey of self-discovery.

Can she channel her ‘inner Helen Mirren’ and find love and friendship in her twilight years?

 

I Did a Bad Thing by Linda Green

When the one who got away walks back into your life, dare you fall for him all over again?
A heartbreaking and poignant novel of love and loss, from the no 1 bestselling author of WHILE MY EYES WERE CLOSED.
Sarah Roberts used to be good. Then she did something bad.
Now, years later, she’s living a good life. She works as a local newspaper reporter and lives with her saintly boyfriend Jonathan. She has no reason to think her guilty past will ever catch up with her.
Until Nick, the man she was prepared to risk everything for, walks back into her life. And suddenly, what’s good and bad aren’t so clear to Sarah any more . . .

‘A funny, dark read’ – Closer

  ‘Smart, witty writing’ – Elle

 

The Story Keeper by Anna Mazzola

From the author of The Unseeing comes a sizzling, period novel of folk tales, disappearances and injustice set on the Isle of Skye, sure to appeal to readers of Hannah Kent’s Burial Rites or Beth Underdown’s The Witch Finder’s Sister.

‘A wonderful combination of a thrilling mystery and a perfectly depicted period piece’ – Sunday Mirror

 

More Than a Feeling by Cate Woods

Life isn’t turning out quite how Annie expected.

In her twenties, she had a dream job, an amazing social life and bags of confidence. Now, she’s living with her boyfriend Luke and is a stay-at-home mum to their baby daughter. The promising career has petered out, and along with it, her confidence and creativity.
And then Luke does the unforgivable. Annie will need the help of her group of loyal friends more than ever. Is old Annie gone forever, or could this finally be the chance to find herself once more?

 

The Bletchley Girls by Tessa Dunlop

Tessa Dunlop captures the extraordinary journeys of the fascinating female secret-keepers who are still alive today into an adult world of war, secrecy, love and loss. Through the voices of the women themselves, this is a portrait of life at Bletchley Park beyond the celebrated code-breakers, it’s the story of the girls behind Britain’s ability to consistently out-smart the enemy, and an insight into the women they have become.

‘An in-depth picture of life in Britain’s wartime intelligence centre…The result is fascinating, and is made all the more touching by the developing friendships between Dunlop and her interviewees.’ – Financial Times

 

This Could Change Everything by Jill Mansell

The deliciously funny Sunday Times Bestseller

One little mistake and nothing will ever be the same again! On the one hand, if Essie hadn’t written that letter – the one that only her best friend was meant to see – then she’d still be living like an actual proper grown-up, tucked up with Paul in his picture-perfect cottage, maybe even planning their wedding…
On the other hand (if her true feelings hadn’t accidentally taken the internet by storm, that is) she wouldn’t have moved into the attic flat on the square. She would never have met Conor. Or got to know Lucas…

And she wouldn’t have found herself falling in love with someone she really, really shouldn’t fall in love with…

 

Younger by Pamela Redmond Satran

She’s old enough to be his mother… but she’s having too much fun to care!

Alice has always looked young for her age, even with her greying   hair and her housewife style. But now that her husband’s gone and her daughter is grown, Alice is in desperate need of a new life. So she lets her best friend Maggie transform her into a woman who looks really young.
But the white lies escalate, and soon Alice finds herself with a gorgeous 20-something boyfriend and the dream job she’d briefly had before becoming a full-time mom.

For the first time since she was actually twenty-nine, or possibly ever, Alice feels that life is ripe with possibility. But has Alice told one lie too many?

 

Kirstie’s Christmas Crafts by Kirstie Allsopp

Hand-make your perfect Christmas with Kirstie!

Nothing shows how much you love someone more than a handmade gift, card or decoration. And the pleasure is just as much in the planning and making as it is in giving and receiving.
In this ultimate celebration of Christmas, Kirstie has brought together over 50 of her favourite festive projects to make, bake and create.

 

A Most Desirable Marriage by Hilary Boyd

Lawrence and Jo enjoy a strong marriage, the envy of their friends. Even after thirty years they have lots to say to each other, many interests in common and, until recently, a good sex life.
But now Lawrence is wary and restless. Something’s wrong. Just how wrong, Jo is about to discover…

Can they use their years of history – all the things they’ve shared – to overcome a devastating betrayal?