Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Our January eBook deals!

Christmas might be well and truly over, but here at Bookends HQ we’ve tracked down a brilliant selection of 99p eBook deals – so you can treat yourself to a much-needed January pick-up!

Whether you’re looking for a fast-paced thriller to keep you gripped, or something more uplifting to chase away those January blues… we’ve got the eBook bargain for you!

Still Lives by Maria Hummel

‘Think a mix of Killing Eve and . . . one of those thrillers that keeps you up till 2am when you’ve a 6am alarm and you’re close to the mark’ Stylist

As the party of the year gets underway, celebrities and patrons pour into the Rocque Museum to see Kim Lord – L.A.’s artist of the moment – stabbed, strangled, shot, and beaten. It’s the opening night of Still Lives, Kim’s new collection of shockingly graphic self-portraits, in which she impersonates the victims of America’s most famous homicides, from Nicole Brown Simpson to the Black Dahlia.

The crowd eagerly await Kim’s arrival, but she fails to appear at the gala. Among those gathered is Maggie Richter, a museum editor whose ex, Greg Shaw Ferguson, is in a relationship with Kim. When Kim is declared officially missing, and Greg is arrested on suspicion of murder, Maggie is drawn into an investigation of her own, haunted by the thought that Kim has suffered the same terrible fate as the women in her paintings.

Perfect for fans of Gone Girl, Sharp Objects and Big Little Lies.

The Keeper of Lost Things by Ruth Hogan

Meet the ‘Keeper of Lost Things’…

Once a celebrated author of short stories now in his twilight years, Anthony Peardew has spent half his life collecting lost objects, trying to atone for a promise broken many years before.

Realising he is running out of time, he leaves his house and all its lost treasures to his assistant Laura, the one person he can trust to fulfill his legacy and reunite the thousands of objects with their rightful owners.

But the final wishes of the ‘Keeper of Lost Things’ have unforeseen repercussions which trigger a most serendipitous series of encounters…

‘The first book I read in 2017and if another as good comes along in the next 12 months, I’ll eat my special gold reviewing spectacles’ Daily Mail

The Key by Kathryn Hughes

From the #1 bestselling author of The Letter, Kathryn Hughes, comes The Key, an unforgettable story of a heartbreaking secret that will stay with you for ever.

1956

It’s Ellen Crosby’s first day as a student nurse at Ambergate Hospital. When she meets a young woman admitted by her father, little does Ellen know that a choice she will make is to change both their lives for ever…

2006

Sarah is drawn to the now abandoned Ambergate. Whilst exploring the old corridors she discovers a suitcase belonging to a female patient who entered Ambergate fifty years earlier. The shocking contents, untouched for half a century, will lead Sarah to unravel a forgotten story of tragedy and lost love, and the chance to make an old wrong right . . .

Playing Away by Adele Parks

She’s playing with fire . . .

Connie Green’s life should be perfect. She’s married to gentle, loving Luke, has a good job and really fabulous friends. She thinks she can’t be happier.

But she’s just met John Harding.

Spectacularly unsuitable and overwhelmingly sexy, he’s about to destroy her peace of mind and her happily ever after, yet she just can’t seem to resist.

And to have any chance of clearing her head, Connie needs to get out of John’s bed…

The unforgettable debut novel from Adele Parks, author of the No. 1 eBook bestseller, The Stranger In My Home.
Playing Away is irresistible, unputdownable and the nearest thing you’ll get to an affair without actually having one…

The House At Chorlton by Prue Leith

The first installment of an epic multi-generational family saga by award-winning restaurateur Prue Leith.

A proud family. Snubbed by aristocratic neighbour Lord Frampton at a coming-of-age ball, Donald Oliver dreams of the day he’ll have his vengeance.

A wild daughter. Laura Oliver, beautiful and tempestuous, falls in love with Giovanni, an Italian ex-prisoner-of-war, now a humble cook. Disdaining her father’s snobbishness – and his wrath – the couple flee to London.

A desperate hope. Giovanni and Laura arrive to a city that has not yet re-awoken after the traumas of war. Facing destitution, only their love for one another and their dream of opening a restaurant business keeps them going.

From Cotswolds farmland to London fish markets, society ballrooms to icy gutters, this is a tale of prejudice and ambition, power and passion, and one couple’s struggle to overcome all obstacles and carve out a life of their own.