Read an exclusive extract of Love, Unscripted by Owen Nicholls!

Read an exclusive extract of Love, Unscripted by Owen Nicholls!

Owen Nicholls’ Love, Unscripted follows film projectionist Nick as he tries to understand the difference between love on the silver screen and love in real life. Perfect for fans of romcoms, David Nicholls and Nick Hornby.

‘Sometimes a book comes along and it feels dusted with magic – Love, Unscripted is one of those books. Nostalgic, tender and achingly cool’ Josie Silver, author of One Day in December 

‘A complete delight for film lovers (and lovers of love)’ Holly Bourne

For film projectionist Nick, love should mirror what he sees on the big screen. And when he falls for Ellie on the eve of the 2008 presidential election, it finally does.

For four blissful years, Nick loved Ellie as much as he loved his job splicing film reels together in the local cinema. Life seemed… picture-perfect.

But now it’s 2012, Ellie has moved out and Nick’s trying to figure out where it all went wrong.

With Ellie gone and his life far from the happy ending he imagined, Nick wonders if their romance could ever again be as perfect as the night they met.

Can love really be as it is in the movies?

Click here to read the first two chapters of Love, Unscripted

Love, Unscripted is out in ebook on 1st June and in hardback on 22nd August. Get your copy here.

Exclusive sneak-peek preview of My Lemon Grove Summer by Jo Thomas

Exclusive sneak-peek preview of My Lemon Grove Summer by Jo Thomas

We have an exclusive sneak-peek extract of the stunning new novel from award-winning author, Jo Thomas. Set in the sunny lemon groves of Sicily, My Lemon Grove Summer follows Zelda as she tries to find a second-chance.

Zelda’s impulsive nature has got her precisely nowhere up until now. A fresh start in a beautiful hilltop town in Sicily looking for new residents, together with her best friend Lennie, could be just what she needs. And who better to settle down with than the person who knows her best?

But the sun-filled skies and sparkling seas can’t hide the shadow hanging over Citta d’Ora, which means not everyone is pleased to see their arrival. The dreams Zelda and her fellow new residents had of setting up a new life might be slipping away. But a friendship with restauranteur Luca could be about to unlock the possibilities that lie in the local lemon groves. And there’s a wedding on the horizon that might be just what the town needs to turn it around…

Could a summer in Sicily help Zelda learn to trust her instinct and follow her heart?

Click here to read the first chapter of My Lemon Grove Summer

Click here to buy My Lemon Grove Summer

My Lemon Grove Summer

My Lemon Grove Summer is out in ebook on 6th June 2019 and in paperback and audio 11th July 2019

Exclusive sneak-peak of The Hideaway by Sheila O’Flanagan

Exclusive sneak-peak of The Hideaway by Sheila O’Flanagan

What would you do if you discovered you were living a lie?

When a shocking news report shatters Juno Ryan’s world, she suddenly finds herself without the man she loves – and with no way of getting the answers she needs.

Juno flees to the enchanting Villa Naranja in Spain. The blue skies and orange groves – along with Pep, the local winemaker’s handsome son – begin to soothe her broken heart. But just when she begins to feel whole again, another bombshell drops.

Juno might have run away from her secrets, but the past isn’t finished with her…

There was a long queue at the car rental desk and I was at
the back of it.
I’d congratulated myself on being first off the plane and
thought I’d be first in line at the rental desk too, but I’d
forgotten there would be other flights into Alicante airport
and that those passengers might also be hiring cars. Now it
seemed that everyone who’d landed that evening was in the
queue ahead of me. And it was moving at a snail’s pace.

You can read the full exclusive extract of The Hideaway by Sheila O’Flanagan here.

The Hideaway

The Hideaway by Sheila O’Flanagan is out in paperback on 7th March. You can get it here.

Maybe This Time by Jill Mansell

Maybe This Time by Jill Mansell

The uplifting new novel from the Sunday Times bestselling author of This Could Change Everything. The perfect read for fans of Lucy Diamond and Katie Fforde.

When Mimi first visits her dad’s new home in the Cotswolds, she falls in love with Goosebrook and the people who live there.

There’s Paddy, with his flashing eyes and seductive charm. Friendly and funny Lois makes Mimi laugh. And seriously gorgeous Cal is welcoming and charismatic. Though Mimi loves her city life and her career, she’d be very happy to return to Goosebrook if it means seeing more of him.

Life is about to take some unexpected and shocking twists and turns. And Mimi’s path and Cal’s are set to cross again and again – but will it ever be the right time for both of them?

You can read a sneak peak of Maybe This Time by Jill Mansell exclusively on Bookends! Click here to take a look…

Maybe This Time

Maybe This Time by Jill Mansell is published on 24th January 2019 but you can pre-order now!

IF YOU GO AWAY Blog Tour Day 1 – An exclusive extract

IF YOU GO AWAY Blog Tour Day 1 – An exclusive extract

27th March 1914

Dearest Diary, I have waited for such a long time for today. Eighteen years, nine months and ten days. My entire life. FOREVER.

 
Vivian carefully underlined the word forever and in a somewhat uncharacteristic gesture hugged the diary to her as though it was a child. Vivian Foster wasn’t prone to being especially giddy — amongst her friends she was considered the most knowing and realistic — but today was, without doubt, exceptional.

 
Forever? There must have been a time when she wasn’t aware of how important marrying was, when she was just a child and concerned with paddling in streams, making perfume from crushed rose petals or picking brambles. Then all she’d waited for was the next sunny day. She just couldn’t remember that time. Perhaps she’d written what she had because writing in diaries made her nervous. Stomach fluttery. She was not sure she wanted to be so known, and certainly not by her already far too controlling mother, nosy younger siblings or a cheeky maid, which was the risk. Diaries were dishonest. When she wrote in hers, she fell into a persona that was quite close to her best self but far from her true self, an insurance against prying eyes. She kept her true self buried practically all of the time. Eighteen-year-old girls weren’t exactly encouraged to say what they thought; in fact they weren’t encouraged  to think at all. Writing that she had waited ‘forever’ for this  day was the sort of thing that could not cause any real trouble;  it was the type of comment that people expected young, virginal  debutantes to write. Naïve. Forgivably imprecise.

Almost the entire Foster family understood the importance of  today. Vivian’s two younger sisters Susan and Barbara (the latter  known to all as Babe, as Mrs Foster’s way of signalling to Mr  Foster that there would be no more babies) were obligingly  awestruck. They sat on Vivian’s bed, mouths slightly ajar, eyes  glazed with excitement, as she wafted around her room, opening  the wardrobe door, fingering the tin of talcum powder, playing  with the ribbons on her dresses, until she sent them back to the  nursery with an imperious wave of the arm. Of course they were  impressed. Vivian was older than them (by two and six years  respectively) and had been attending balls whilst they were tucked  up in bed, a fact that was too compelling for them to ever consider  contradicting her. Her brother Toby, four years her junior, was  nonplussed. His gender gave him a strong sense of superiority  that, somewhat annoyingly, overrode the age discrepancy.

It was absolutely true to say that since coming out eight  months ago, Vivian had been waiting for this exact day, and there  wasn’t a huge difference in her imagination between eight months  and forever, because before she came out, she was more or less  nothing.

She was simply waiting.

A schoolgirl who could be bossed and directed by almost anyone:  parents, close and distant relatives, Nanny, the governess, neighbours,  the vicar and anyone Mrs Foster had ever been intimate with, who  still might be found in the drawing room on Thursday ‘at homes’.  Providing a person was old and wealthy enough to have opinions,  it was accepted that they could foist them upon young girls,  who had to receive them (however ridiculous) in silence. That was why Vivian believed today to be so important. Everything  changed.

Sometimes it had seemed as though this day would never come  around; irrationally she’d feared that longing for it so ardently  might lead to a catastrophic, logic-defying interruption to the  passage of time, but time had ultimately surrendered and the day  had arrived.

Don’t forget to check out the rest of the blog tour this week, continuing tomorrow  on Handwritten Girl.

IF YOU GO AWAY is available to read in full in Hardback and Ebook now. Buy online.