Read the 1st chapter of Where There’s a Will by Beth Corby

Read the 1st chapter of Where There’s a Will by Beth Corby

where there's a will promo

Read the never before seen 1st chapter of Where There’s a Will by Beth Corby – THE fun, uplifting, romantic read for summer 2019!

Would you take the chance that could change everything?

After leaving university at the age of twenty-five with no idea what to do with her life, Hannah is stunned when she is left a mystery bequest by her rich, estranged great-uncle Donald.

But there’s a catch: before she can find out what she’s inherited, she must undertake a series of unknown tasks alongside Alec, Donald’s reluctant (but rather gorgeous) PA.

As the tasks progress and she and Alec grow closer, Hannah begins to think that Donald’s real gift might have more to do with love than money . . .

This funny, romantic and uplifting novel is perfect for fans of Sophie Kinsella, Cathy Hopkins and Anna Bell.

Read the 1st chapter by clicking on this link here.

Where There’s a Will is out in eBook on 30 May 2019. Pre-order it now.

Our top Valentine’s Day and Galentine’s Day reading picks

Our top Valentine’s Day and Galentine’s Day reading picks

Whether it’s Galentine’s Day or Valentine’s Day you plan on celebrating this week, Bookends has you covered with this FAB selection of books. From celebrating the power of female friendships to classic tales of ‘meet-cutes’, leave it to us to find you your next romantic read…

The Sisterhood – Daisy Buchanan

For fans of Bryony Gordon and Dolly Alderton, The Sisterhood is an honest and hilarious book which celebrates the ways in which women connect with each other.

‘My five sisters are the only women I would ever kill for. And they are the only women I have ever wanted to kill.’

Imagine living between the pages of Pride And Prejudice, in the Bennett household. Now, imagine how the Bennett girls as they’d be in the 21st century – looking like the Kardashian sisters, but behaving like the Simpsons. This is the house Daisy Buchanan grew up in,

Daisy’s memoir The Sisterhood explores what it’s like to live as a modern woman by examining some examples close to home – her adored and infuriating sisters. There’s Beth, the rebellious contrarian; Grace, the overachiever with a dark sense of humour; Livvy, the tough girl who secretly cries during adverts; Maddy, essentially Descartes with a beehive; and Dotty, the joker obsessed with RuPaul’s Drag Race and bears.

In this tender, funny and unflinchingly honest account Daisy examines her relationship with her sisters and what it’s made up of – friendship, insecurity jokes, jealousy and above all, love – while celebrating the ways in which women connect with each other and finding the ways in which we’re all sisters under the skin.

Maybe This Time – Jill Mansell

Maybe This Time

Heartwarming and joyful – the brand new romantic comedy from the Sunday Times bestselling author of THIS COULD CHANGE EVERYTHING. An irresistible read for fans of Lucy Diamond and Katie Fforde.

‘Mansell has delivered another winner with this compelling, thoughtful, emotionally intelligent book about love, friendship and not giving up’ Daily Mail

Mimi isn’t looking for love when she spends a weekend in Goosebrook, the Cotswolds village her dad has moved to. And her first encounter with Cal, who lives there too, is nothing like a scene in a romantic movie – although she can’t help noticing how charismatic he is. But Cal’s in no position to be any more than a friend, and Mimi heads back to her busy London life.

When they meet again four years later, it’s still not to be. Cal is focusing on his family, and Mimi on her career. Then Cal dives into a potentially perfect new romance whilst Mimi’s busy fixing other people’s relationships.

It seems as if something, or someone else, always gets in their way. Will it ever be the right time for both of them?

The F Word – Lily Pebbles

If there’s one piece of invaluable advice for women and girls of all ages, it is that there is nothing more important than creating and maintaining strong, positive and happy friendships with other women.

In a culture that largely pits women against each other, I want to celebrate female friendships… all strings attached!

If my 1998 diary is anything to go by, female friendships are incredibly complex and emotional but they’re the mini love stories that make us who we are. For many women, friends are our partners in crime through life; they are the ones who move us into new homes, out of bad relationships, through births and illnesses. In The F Word I’ve set out to explore and celebrate the essence of female friendship at different life stages and in its many wild and wonderful forms.

The Single Ladies of Jacaranda Retirement Village by Joanna Nell

The Single Ladies of Jacaranda Retirement Village by Joanna Nell

The life of 79-year-old pensioner Peggy Smart is as beige as the décor in her retirement village. Her week revolves around aqua aerobics and appointments with her doctor. The highlight of Peggy’s day is watching her neighbour Brian head out for his morning swim.

Peggy dreams of inviting the handsome widower – treasurer of the Residents’ Committee and one of the few eligible men in the village – to an intimate dinner. But why would an educated man like Brian, a chartered accountant no less, look twice at Peggy? As a woman of a certain age, she fears she has become invisible, even to men in their eighties.

But a chance encounter with an old school friend she hasn’t seen in five decades – the glamorous fashionista Angie Valentine – sets Peggy on an unexpected journey of self-discovery.

Can she channel her ‘inner Helen Mirren’ and find love and friendship in her twilight years?

The Night Tiger by Yangsze Choo

A captivating and magical story set in 1930s Malaysia about a dancehall girl and an orphan boy who are brought together by a series of mysterious events.

In 1930s colonial Malaya, a dissolute British doctor receives a surprise gift of an eleven-year-old Chinese houseboy. Sent as a bequest from an old friend, young Ren has a mission: to find his dead master’s severed finger and reunite it with his body. Ren has forty-nine days, or else his master’s soul will roam the earth forever.

Ji Lin, an apprentice dressmaker, moonlights as a dancehall girl to pay her mother’s debts. One night, Ji Lin’s dance partner leaves her with a gruesome souvenir that leads her on a crooked, dark trail.

As time runs out for Ren’s mission, a series of unexplained deaths occur amid rumours of tigers who turn into men. In their journey to keep a promise and discover the truth, Ren and Ji Lin’s paths will cross in ways they will never forget.

Sweeping and lushly written, The Night Tiger explores the rich world of servants and masters, ancient superstition and modern ambition, sibling rivalry and unexpected love. Woven through with Chinese folklore and a tantalizing mystery, this novel is a page-turner of the highest order.

The Prodigal Daughter by Prue Leith

Emotional family saga following the second generation of the Angelotti food dynasty, from household name Prue Leith. Perfect for fans of Penny Vincenzi and Barbara Taylor Bradford.

A new generation. It is 1968. Angelica Angelotti has grown up in her parents’ Italian restaurant. Now she is striking out on her own in Paris. There she falls in love with her charismatic but unpredictable cousin Mario.

A fresh challenge. Navigating a blossoming career, from the Savoy hotel to the world of television, alongside an increasingly toxic relationship proves impossible. The offer to run the pub on her family’s estate as a restaurant seems like the perfect escape. Chorlton has called her home…A brighter future. Soon she has a thriving business, and even the chance of a new love. But when Mario reappears, determined to win her back, will Angelica be able to hold on to everything she’s sacrificed so much for?

Eight relatable female friendships in books

Eight relatable female friendships in books

We’re celebrating some of our favourite fictional female friendships so settle in with a cup of tea and get reading!

I’m a huge Austen fan and I’d say #relationshipgoals belongs to sisters Jane and Lizzie in Pride and Prejudice. They’re both completely supportive of one another, and Lizzie in particular fiercely defends Jane’s honour when she falls out of favour with her one true love Bingley (thanks to his conniving sister). Second place goes to Charlotte and Lizzie; even though Lizzie can’t quite understand why her best friend would marry someone so ridiculous as Mr Collins, she manages to get on board with the idea (after a little bit of persuading). More recently, at the centre of How Do You Like Me Now? is lifestyle guru Tori, who may seem to have it all from the outside – a great career, loads of money, and a devoted boyfriend – but she doesn’t know what the hell she’s doing. Her friendship with teacher Dee is completely true-to-life, full of cynicism and snarky comments about moving through your 20s and 30s whilst everyone seems to have their life together. And the wedding bingo scene is beyond relatable. Aimee

Growing up I was OBSESSED with the Angus, Thongs and Full – Frontal Snogging series. I read them all back to back several times over and my Mum had to hide them from me to encourage me to read new things. If ever you need a laugh-out-loud throwback to the late 00’s then this is the one to read – and the film is a must watch: Aaron Johnson at his best and Eleanor Tomlinson before she started doing Poldark. How To Be A Grown Up by Daisy Buchanan is now my go-to guide for learning (pretending) how to be a grown up. Daisy has written this amazing guide that has everything from how to NOT be jealous of all those green-juice drinking images you see on Instagram and there’s a whole chapter on ‘How To Have Friends’. Helena

If you’re looking for warm tales of female friendship then look no further than The Early Birds by Laurie Graham. This hymn to lifelong female friendship follows Peggy, Kath, Gayle, Audrey and Lois, five former US Air Force wives, and shows us that the bonds of friendship forged in military bases are still going strong fifty years later! I absolutely fell in love with this sharp-tongued, often eccentric, but always loyal group of friends, and I’m sure you will too this Galentines day! In 2017 I also loved reading Swing Time by Zadie Smith – it deals with the complicated nature of female friendship and identity in such a real way. I really related to the stories of childhood dance classes, and it brought memories flooding back of time spent in dusty village halls with old friends. A really beautiful but at times sombre read, but without a doubt it will make you value lasting friendships. Hannah

I don’t have sisters, and I’ve not sure I’ve ever really wanted any, except when reading Little Women. In a household of chaos, the Marsh sisters are each other’s best friends and most trusted confidantes. Against all manner of adversity in their lives as domestic servants in Singapore, the women of The Maid’s Room – often thousands of miles away from their own families and children – bond together and support each other.  Alice

If non-fiction is more your thing:

Deeds Not Words (written by the great-granddaughter of Suffragette Emmeline Pankhurst) takes a look at the changing roles of women over the last century, and discusses how much more needs to be done in the search for equality. Lily Pebbles’s The F Word celebrates the good, the bad, and the in-between of female friendships.